On Gear Live: Apple purchases Beats Electronics & Beats Music for $3 billion, Dr. Dre & Jimmy Iovine join company

Latest Gear Live Videos

Saturday June 2, 2012 10:52 pm

Weekend Reading: Avengers, Beau, Gareb And The Ultraverse

AvengersEveryone is still talking about Joss Whedon's The Avengers.

Emmy-winning writer/producer/director Ken Levine got a kick out of The Avengers, but it’s not his favorite comic book movie.

The Avengers is now the third highest-grossing US movie of all time.

And they're even screening it on the International Space Station

But there's also some non-Avengers news.

Former Wizard-in-chief Gareb Shamus is turning movie producer, thanks to Jimmy Palmiotti.

 

Beau Smith on the state of the industry and the future of comics, calling it like he sees it (and please someone hire Beau to write more).

If you remember the Ultraverse and Malibu Comics, here’s a new podcast with Chris Ulm and Dave Olbrich.

You can never go wrong with Daniel Clowes - I’ve been a fan since Lloyd Llewellyn - and Rod Lott at Bookgasm agrees, especially with The Art of Daniel Clowes: Modern Cartoonist.

Wag The Fox has similar nice things to say about The Sandman Vol. 6: Fables and Reflection.

Wayne Boring interviewed? My pal Richard Pachter found his old interview online. Great stuff for fans of Superman, Boring and old DC!

Drunken Yoda from Weimar World Service. I hope this catches on.

Paul Kupperberg remembers the late colorist Bob LeRose.

I remember a couple of these Will Eisner books, but they all look like they’re worth having, courtesy of Booksteve’s Library.

Scott Edelman explains his feelings about working on Jack Kirby’s books at Marvel in the 1970s.

Salon looks at how to revive a comic book.

Gil Roth doesn’t think much of Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay.

And finally, Dan Jolley has a blog!

Now go forth and use your internets responsibly!

[Artwork: The Avengers]

Advertisement

Advertisement

Post a Comment:







Smileys

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?



Advertisement